如何激励佣金销售人员?


佣金是一种基于业绩的可变薪酬形式。团队成员可以赚取 "固定 "佣金,通常是他们所创造的销售额的一个百分比;或者是 "斜坡 "佣金,即薪酬随着他们达到的每一个目标而增加。

由于佣金是以业绩为基础的,因此它可以作为一项 销售人员的激励工具.这是一个透明的薪酬结构,可以使组织和整个团队都受益。你可以用它来奖励团队成员,控制成本,吸引和留住顶尖人才。

事实上,一个好的提成可能是低薪和高薪之间的差别,特别是如果目标是公平和可实现的。它可以提高人们的参与度,提高员工的留用率。

然而,有时薪酬并不足以让人们保持积极性。如果某些成员的表现明显好于其他成员,或者目标不切实际,甚至会对你的团队成员产生相反的影响。

挑战在于如何处理收入相差悬殊的团队成员。这里我们将谈谈如何在基于佣金的薪酬结构下保持整个团队的积极性。有各种方法可以避免冲突,提高士气,鼓励团队合作。

如何激励你的只收佣金的销售人员,使他们表现得最好

很多公司在支付低基本工资的同时,还配以诱人的佣金。在这种结构下,团队成员不仅可以支付生活费,还可以付出额外的努力来增加收入。因此,佣金计划是激励团队成员业绩的最佳选择。

对于公司来说,它是有益的,因为它有助于达到甚至超越目标。这也是为什么佣金计划通常用于销售角色的原因,因为销售角色的目标驱动力很强。

明星业绩者的收入要比那些业绩不是很好的团队成员,甚至是其他部门的固定收入的同事要高很多。但需要注意的是,这可能会引起那些没有完成目标的同事的不满,或者根本拿不到佣金。

所以,除了潜在薪酬的增加,你还需要激励员工的方法。你要表扬那些做得好的人,而不孤立那些做得不好的人。知道什么时候进行干预并提供进一步的支持,是激励只收佣金的销售人员的关键。

了解是什么让他们心动

首先,你需要把它上升到个人层面。你的团队中的每一个成员都有不同的优点、缺点、动机和目标。作为领导者,你需要熟悉自己的所有这些品质。这将使你了解为什么某个成员表现不佳。

这也适用于你在招聘新的佣金制团队成员时。如果你了解候选人的特点,你就可以判断他们是否适合你的组织。

有些人比其他人更适合基于佣金的薪酬结构。你需要的是那些自我激励和有点竞争力的人。在招聘新成员时,要明确你所追求的技能和素质。

把挫折当作暂时的销售人员往往比那些比较悲观的人卖得更多。尽量寻找那些积极向上、自我激励、能很好地应对压力的潜在团队成员。

你需要首先确保你有合适的人去做这份工作。这对保持你的团队在工作中的积极性和快乐会有很大的帮助。

告诉他们如何才能得到他们想要的东西。

人们的动机不仅仅是金钱。他们想要成长、稳定、向上发展等。还有的人希望有更多的时间与家人在一起,或者赢得同行的尊重。向他们展示,他们可以通过成功的销售获得他们想要的东西。通过提供一对一的反馈和有益的建议,与他们一起努力实现目标。

作为团队领导,你希望帮助你的员工成长,所以要确保你在每一步都能指导他们。如果他们感觉到自己正在通过努力工作向个人和财务目标迈进,他们就会变得有动力,表现得更好。

定期提供反馈和鼓励。即使是短暂的、非正式的辅导课程,对于表现不佳的团队成员来说,也能起到奇效。它还可以防止小问题失控,从而有助于保持团队的高士气。

相反,如果你有一个表现优异的成员,不要害怕时不时地告诉他们。即使是经常超额完成目标的明星成员,也会因为工作出色而得到表扬。

开展有奖趣味竞赛

仅仅因为某人是按佣金计酬并为自己的目标而工作,并不意味着他们应该忽视团队的其他成员。团队合作仍然是必不可少的。

注重建立一个积极的团队,定期召开会议,利用团队建设练习等。人们很容易变得心思单一。但你需要强调,你们是一个单位,目的是为了同一个目标。

为了增进团队成员之间的友谊,你可以开展有奖趣味竞赛。你可以把紧张的事情变成愉快的事情。在工作场所进行一点友好的竞争是健康的。

已连接例如,我们举办销售竞赛,让一个团队与另一个团队进行竞争。比赛的获胜者可以得到一顿丰盛的牛排晚餐、一些现金和吹嘘的权利--直到下一次比赛开始。Kennected鼓励一个有趣和竞争的工作环境。我们希望人们能从友好的竞争中获益。最终,我们能够用我们的解决方案帮助更多的企业主,我们的代表也能赚到更多的钱。

另一个值得注意的是,Kennected的团队中有几位前职业球星。到目前为止,他们已经被证明是我们表现最好的人之一,证明了运动员所具有的竞争精神可以在工作环境中得到很好的转化。

我们也会根据人们的内驱力来聘用他们。运动员就是很好的例子,他们懂得如何竞争,如何克服困难,如何在团队环境中发挥。

你的销售团队不一定要由运动员组成。关键是,如果你想让基于佣金的结构运作良好,你需要采取同样的竞争和决心的心态。

拥有可重复、可复制的销售流程,帮助他们成功。

不是每个人都能成为乔丹-贝尔福特,但每个人都能学会销售。拥有一个快乐和成功的销售团队的关键之一是设定现实和公平的目标。没有什么比一个你知道无论你多么努力都无法实现的目标更令人沮丧的了。

你可以通过实施可重复和可复制的销售流程来获得更好的结果,这些流程的设置是为了帮助你的团队成员取得成功。不要设定不切实际的目标。同时,也不要把目标定得太低,否则你会发现很难在不损害他们士气的情况下提高目标。

如果团队成员认为他们的同事比他们更容易达到目标,他们可能会感到不满。

你可以定期安排与团队成员进行一对一的谈话,以审查他们的每个目标。确保他们的期望和你的期望都是同步的。例如,如果他们一直没有达到目标,就尝试找出问题的根源,并采取适当的行动。

有时,业绩不佳可能是由于他们无法控制的因素,如季节性需求或市场条件的变化。但是,如果他们的销售技巧或产品知识存在问题,你就需要提供更多的培训和指导,以弥补技能上的不足。

让销售人员认同公司的愿景。

你的销售人员应该是你公司的头号支持者。他们应该是你的品牌的拥护者。如果他们不认同公司的愿景--或者说他们根本不了解公司的愿景,他们就无法做到这一点。

这些人不仅仅是你的销售团队:他们是你品牌的代表,所以要确保他们知道他们代表的是什么。你公开塑造的形象就是你的团队应该相信的形象。

维护你的LinkedIn页面,保持更新,并定期发布信息内容。做到这些将有助于确保你和你的团队都在同一个页面上。

同时,他们也需要相信你是他们的领导。如果你不相信自己的能力,就很难保持积极性。所以,如果他们不相信你是他们的领导,整个团队就不会发挥出他们的全部潜能。

如何提升你的领导水平

根据约翰-C-麦克斯韦的 "盖子法则",你的领导能力有多强,你就能发挥多大的作用。它说,你的领导能力是决定你有多有效的盖子。它决定了你的最大潜力。

盖子法则指出,一个人的领导能力越低,其潜力的盖子就越低。所以,举例来说,如果你的领导力只有4分,那么你的效能就不会高于3分,反之,如果你的领导能力很强,那么你也可以有更大的潜力。有了更大的领导能力,你就能对组织产生更大的影响。

考虑到这一点,你可以通过自己成为一个更好的领导者来激励你的团队。提高你的领导力水平,将帮助你带来更多的收获,让你的团队更加团结。领导力具有事半功倍的效果,一旦你在自己身上投入了足够的资金,它将对你的业务产生巨大的影响。

成为一个更好的领导者意味着发展对整个团队至关重要的技能,而不仅仅是你自己。即使你的角色并不要求你成为公司所有方面的专家,但这样做也是有好处的。熟悉自己的每个部门。这可以帮助你理解你的同伴和他们的挫折,同时提升你自己的技能。

这有一个积极的副作用,因为你的同行会看到你提升了你的技能,所以你可以支持他们。这将有助于提高士气,激励他们表现得更好,因为他们知道有你在背后支持他们。

如果目标切合实际,团队成员有积极性,以佣金为基础的薪酬结构可以实现双赢。请记住,对于一些团队成员来说,仅靠佣金还不足以成为激励因素。帮助他们成长,你将 见你 公司与他们一起成长。

安排一次演示
发展您的业务

How To Motivate Commission Salespeople


Commission is a form of variable pay that is based on performance. Team members can earn either a “flat” commission, which is usually a percentage of the sales they generate; or a “ramped” commission, wherein pay rises with each target that they meet.

Because it is performance-based, commission can serve as a motivating tool for salespeople. It is a transparent pay structure that can benefit both the organization and your whole team. You can use it to reward team members, control costs, and attract and retain top talent.

In fact, a good commission can be the difference between a low salary and a great one, especially if targets are fair and achievable. It can boost people’s engagement levels and improve staff retention rates.

However, sometimes the pay isn’t enough to keep people motivated. If certain members are performing significantly better than others, or if targets are unrealistic, it can even have the opposite effect on your team members.

The challenge is in handling team members who earn vastly different amounts. Here we will talk about how to keep the whole team motivated under a commission-based pay structure. There are various ways to avoid conflict, boost morale, and encourage teamwork.

How to Motivate Your Commission-Only Sales Staff to Perform Their Best

A lot of companies pay a low basic salary paired with an attractive commission. With this structure, team members can cover their living expenses, but can also put in extra effort to increase their earnings. Commission schemes are therefore perfect for incentivizing team members’ performance.

For companies, it is beneficial because it helps reach—and even exceed—targets. This is why commission schemes are typically used in sales roles, which are heavily-target driven.

Star performers earn a lot more than team members who don’t perform very well and even colleagues from other departments who are on fixed incomes. But it is important to note that this may cause resentment among colleagues who are failing to meet their targets, or who don’t receive commission at all.

So aside from the increased potential pay, you need ways to motivate your people. You want to praise those who are doing well without isolating those who aren’t. Knowing when to intervene and provide further support is the key to motivating commission-only salespeople.

Understand What Makes Them Tick

First, you need to take it to a personal level. Every single member of your team has different strengths, weaknesses, motivations, and goals. As the leader, you need to familiarize yourself with all of these qualities. This will allow you to understand why a certain member is underperforming.

This also applies when you’re hiring new commission-based team members. If you understand what makes a candidate tick, you can tell if they would be a good fit for your organization or not.

Some people are better suited for the commission-based pay structure than others. You want people who are self-motivated and a little competitive. When hiring new members, be clear on the skills and qualities that you are seeking.

Salespeople who treat setbacks as temporary tend to sell more than people who are more pessimistic. Try to look for potential team members who are positive, self-motivated, and can cope well under pressure.

You need to make sure that you have the right people for the job in the first place. This will go a long way in keeping your team motivated and happy in the workplace.

Show Them How they can Get What They Want

People aren’t just motivated by money. They want growth, stability, upward mobility, etc. Others want to spend more time with their family, or earn the respect of their peers. Show them that they can get what they want by succeeding in sales. Work with them towards their goals by providing one-on-one feedback and helpful advice.

As the team leader, you want to help your people grow, so be sure you’re there to guide them every step of the way. If they feel that they are moving towards their personal and financial goals by working hard, they will become motivated to perform better.

Provide regular feedback and encouragement. Even short, informal coaching sessions can work wonders for team members who are not performing so well. It can also help to keep team morale high by preventing small problems from spiraling out of control.

Conversely, if you have a member that performs exceptionally, don’t be afraid to tell them every now and then. Even star performers who regularly exceed their targets will appreciate praise for a job well done.

Run Fun Competitions with Prizes

Just because someone is on commission-based pay and working towards their own targets doesn’t mean they should ignore the rest of the team. Teamwork remains essential.

Focus on building a positive team by holding regular meetings, using team-building exercises, etc. It’s easy for people to become single-minded. But you need to emphasize that you are one unit aiming for the same goal.

To foster a bit more camaraderie among team members, you can run fun competitions with prizes. You can turn something stressful into something that is enjoyable. A little friendly competition in the workplace is healthy.

Kennected, for example, runs sales competitions where we pit one team against the other. The winner of the competition gets a nice steak dinner, some cash, and bragging rights—until the next competition starts. Kennected encourages a fun and competitive workplace environment. We want people to feed off the friendly competition. In the end, we’re able to help more business owners with our solutions, and our reps earn more.

Another thing that’s worth noting is that Kennected has several ex professional ball players on the team. So far they have proven to be among our best performers, proving that the competitive spirit that athletes have can translate wonderfully in the workplace setting.

We also hire people based on their internal drive. Athletes are great examples of people who know how to compete, overcome adversity, and play in a team environment.

Your sales team does not have to consist of athletes. The point is you need to adopt that same mindset of competitiveness and determination if you want the commission-based structure to work well.

Have Repeatable and Duplicatable Sales Processes to Help Them Succeed

Not everyone can be Jordan Belfort, but everyone can learn to sell. One of the keys to having a happy and successful sales team is setting targets that are realistic and fair. Nothing is more demotivating than a goal that you know cannot be achieved no matter how hard you work.

You can get better results by implementing repeatable and duplicatable sales processes that are set up to help your team members succeed. Don’t set unrealistic goals. At the same time, don’t set them too low or else you will find it difficult to increase targets without damaging their morale.

If team members think that their colleagues have easier targets than them, they might become resentful.

You can schedule regular one-on-ones with team members to review each of their targets. Make sure that both their and your expectations are in sync. For example, if they keep missing their targets, try to get to the root of the problem and take appropriate action.

Sometimes a poor performance might be due to factors outside of their control, such as changes in seasonal demand or market conditions. However, if there is a problem with their sales technique or product knowledge, you will need to provide more training and coaching to bridge skill gaps.

Get the Sales Staff to Buy into the Company Vision

Your sales staff should be your company’s number one supporters. They should be advocates of your brand. They can’t do this if they don’t buy into the company vision—or even understand it in the first place.

These people aren’t just your sales team: they are representatives of your brand, so make sure they know what they are representing. The image you portray publicly is the image your team should believe in.

Maintain your LinkedIn page, keep it updated, and regularly post informative content. Doing these will help ensure that you and your team are all on the same page.

At the same time, they need to buy into you as their leader. It’s hard to stay motivated if you don’t believe you are in the right hands. So if they don’t trust you as their leader, the whole team won’t perform to their full potential.

How to Elevate Your Level of Leadership

According to John C. Maxwell’s “Law of the Lid”, you can only be as effective as your ability to lead. It says that your leadership ability is the lid that determines how effective you are. It determines your maximum potential.

The Law of the Lid states that the lower an individual’s ability to lead, the lower the lid on their potential. So if for example, your leadership is only a 4, then your effectiveness will be no higher than a 3. Conversely, if your leadership skills are great, then you can also have greater potential. With greater leadership skills, you can have a bigger impact on your organization.

With this in mind, you can motivate your team by becoming a better leader yourself. Increasing your level of leadership will help you bring more to the table and bring your team together. Leadership has a multiplying effect, and it will impact your business tremendously once you’ve invested enough in yourself.

Becoming a better leader means developing skills that are essential to the whole team, not just you. Even if your role does not require you to be an expert in all aspects of your company, it pays to do so. Familiarize yourself with each department. It can help you understand your peers and their frustrations while boosting your own skill set.

This has a positive side effect in that your peers will see you elevating your skillset so you can support them. This will help boost morale and motivate them to perform better, knowing they have you to back them up.

Commission-based salary structures can be a win-win for everyone if targets are realistic, and if team members are motivated. Remember that commission alone is not enough of a motivating factor for some team members. Help them grow and you will see your company grow along with them.

Schedule a Demo -
Grow Your Business

Subscribe For
Exclusive
Content