Do Google Searches Show Up On LinkedIn?


Even on social networking sites such as LinkedIn, privacy is very important. Though your goal is to connect with more people, you still want to find a way to protect your data and sensitive information. That includes the things you search on Google.

Many new users ask if their Google searches show up on LinkedIn. However, there doesn’t seem to be any indication of this.

Some people think that LinkedIn is using their search history to recommend people for the “People You May Know” feature. However, the algorithms used by LinkedIn are much broader than that. LinkedIn uses different sources for these recommendations such as Industry, Prior Jobs, Current Job, Title, Keywords used in your LinkedIn Profile, Groups you are part of, Companies you follow, Region, and your LinkedIn Network.

Sometimes LinkedIn asks you if you know a person because they want to make sure that user is not sending massive amounts of connection invitations to people they don’t know.

People You May Know

LinkedIn’s People You May Know feature, found on the My Network page, suggests other members based on your commonalities. Profiles listed there may have shared connections, or have similar profile information. There is nothing to suggest that LinkedIn uses search engine results to come up with these recommendations.

Similarly, LinkedIn does not scan the content of your messages to suggest results for the People You May Know feature. The platform respects your privacy.

Other LinkedIn users want to find out if the other person is notified when they view their profile through Google. The easiest way to answer this is by talking about LinkedIn profile viewing options. No matter how you find someone on LinkedIn—through LinkedIn, Google, or any other search engine—whether or not the other person sees your name depends on your profile viewing settings.

By default, when you visit someone else’s profile, the person receives a notification. They can also see your name on their Who’s Viewed Your Profile page. However, you can change this setting directly from LinkedIn in order to view profiles anonymously. Just take note that when you browse profiles anonymously, you will also become unable to see who has viewed your own profile.

Profile Viewing Options on LinkedIn

There are three ways LinkedIn can display information on the Who’s Viewed Your Profile page. You can set it according to your preferences. You may choose to display one of the following:

Your name, headline, location, and industry

Your profile characteristics such as job title, company, school, and industry,

Or just “LinkedIn Member” for anonymity

This lets you control what people see when you view their profile. You can update your profile viewing options from the Settings & Privacy page. Just click the Me icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage and select Settings & Privacy from the dropdown.

Click the Privacy tab at the top of the page and select Change under the How others see your LinkedIn activity section, next to Profile viewing options.

Under the How others see your LinkedIn activity section, click Change next to Profile viewing options.

Your changes will be saved automatically.

To make lead generation even easier, use a high quality automation tool like Kennected. Kennected lets you send personalized messages and follow-ups automatically. Kennected uses laser accurate data to find the ideal clients for you. Try Kennected today and say goodbye to repetitive and mundane tasks. Start focusing on what really matters for your business.

Schedule a Demo -
Grow Your Business