Does LinkedIn Tell You Every Time Someone Looks At Your Profile?


LinkedIn gives users the option to see who has viewed their profile. This opens up opportunities to connect with people who may be interested in working with you.

But many users want to know if the other person is notified every time they visit someone’s profile. This is because people don’t always want to connect with the people they visit. Sometimes they are doing it just for research, or even to check out the competition.

The answer depends on your own LinkedIn settings. LinkedIn often notifies people when you view their profiles. The person may get an email or alert saying you viewed their profile. But LinkedIn also gives you control over who can see if you’ve viewed their profile. If you want some anonymity, you can still browse privately without LinkedIn sharing this information.

You can do this by updating your profile viewing options from the Settings & Privacy page.

Update Your Profile

Simply head to the LinkedIn website, click your profile icon on the top bar, and select “Settings & Privacy”. Under Privacy, click “how others see your profile and network information”. Click on “Profile viewing options” and select how you want to appear. You can select “Anonymous LinkedIn Member” for private browsing. There is also the option to appear as just “Someone on LinkedIn” or something more specific. You can customize your private profile characteristics through this selection.

Once you have adjusted your settings, your profile visits will become anonymous. People are still going to see that someone viewed their profile after you view their profile, but they will only see that an anonymous person viewed it.

Do take note that there is a downside to hiding your name using this method. As LinkedIn warns you on the settings page, while you become anonymous to other people, they also become anonymous to you. LinkedIn will hide the names of people who view your profile from you after you enable this anonymity option.

While it may seem strange that a person will prefer anonymity on a social network, there are situations that call for it.

Do Not Be Anonymous

On the flip side, if you want to see who has viewed your profile, you cannot choose to be anonymous. There are benefits to staying visible. For example, you can use the Who Viewed Your Profile feature to display profile visitors in the last 90 days. It shows the viewer’s name, headline, location, and industry.

It will also show the viewer’s semi-private profile characteristics such as job title, company, school, and industry. LinkedIn might vary the information depending on the member’s privacy settings. Of course, you will not be able to see their name if they have chosen to stay anonymous.

To access the Who Viewed Your Profile page, click the Me icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage and click View profile. You can also check who viewed your profile from your dashboard. Click “Who’s Viewed Your Profile” beneath your profile photo on the left rail of your LinkedIn homepage.

LinkedIn’s privacy settings give users a lot of options to suit their specific needs. Whether you prefer to be visible or anonymous, LinkedIn allows you to browse profiles as you please. Use this to your advantage and expand your network today.

Schedule a Demo -
Grow Your Business