Can You Tell If Someone Declines Your LinkedIn Request?


LinkedIn is a useful resource for making professional contacts. It is the best social networking platform for professionals, marketers, and entrepreneurs. Making new connections is one of its core functions. As with many similar sites, a LinkedIn relationship begins when one user invites another person to connect with them.

Before the connection is made and the users are added to one another’s respective networks, the recipient needs to accept the invite first. Once they click Accept, the pair will be linked on the site.

In some cases, the recipient might not accept the invitation at all. Either they are not interested in connecting, or they simply don’t know the sender. People rarely accept invites from LinkedIn users they don’t know personally.

How To Tell When Someone Declines Your LinkedIn Request?

LinkedIn does not notify the sender when their connection request is declined. A recipient can ignore the request, either by pressing the “Ignore” option or by literally ignoring it and taking no action whatsoever.

If they ignore the request and don’t do anything about it, the request will remain in their LinkedIn inbox as a new message in the Invitations section. They may later receive an email from LinkedIn to remind them about the connection request. However, this does not always happen.

If they click the “Ignore” button on the listed invitation, it is essentially a form of “soft” rejection. The message moves to their Archived folder, but they can still choose to open the message again later and accept the request. The sender is not notified about their ignored request.

After clicking “Ignore”, the recipient sees an extra option that is labeled as “I Don’t Know This Person”. What many people don’t know is that when a person clicks this option, it is the same as getting marked as spam.

Even after clicking this option, the recipient can still retrieve the invitation from their archive and accept it later. This option simply acts as a signal to LinkedIn. If the sender receives enough “I Don’t Know This Person” responses, LinkedIn may suspend or restrict their account. LinkedIn may also warn the user to only make requests to people they know.

Accept or Ignore

There are other option recipients can choose when receiving an invite on LinkedIn. Aside from choosing between Accept and Ignore, they can also send a message to the other user before making a decision. This can be done through a drop-down option on the Accept button. Sending a message is a good way to contact the sender, especially if the recipient does not recognize them. Sending a message does not count as accepting the request.

Kennected is a high-quality LinkedIn automation tool that lets users personalize and send automated messages and follow-ups. Sending personalized messages is a good way to make sure that recipients respond to your invitations. Kennected also lets you personalize your follow-up messages so that people don’t think you are a spammer.

Automation tools like Kennected can help you focus on more important tasks by automating the ones that are mundane or repetitive. Kennected also uses laser-accurate data to find the ideal clients for you, so that your messages can reach the right people.

Schedule a Demo -
Grow Your Business