LinkedIn is a useful resource for making professional contacts and is by far the best social networking platform for professionals, marketers, and entrepreneurs alike. Making new connections and expanding your network is one of its core functions. As with many similar sites, a LinkedIn relationship begins when one user invites another person to connect with them.
Before the connection is made and the users are added to one another’s respective networks, the recipient needs to accept the invite first. Once they click “Accept”, the pair will be linked on the site. In some cases, the recipient might not accept the invitation at all. Either they are not interested in connecting, or they simply don’t know the sender. People rarely accept invites from LinkedIn users they don’t know personally.
How To Tell When Someone Declines Your LinkedIn Request?
LinkedIn does NOT notify the sender when their connection request is declined. A recipient can ignore the request by either pressing the “Ignore” button or by literally ignoring it and taking no action whatsoever. If they ignore the request and don’t do anything about it, the request will remain in their LinkedIn inbox as a new message in the “Invitations” section. They may later receive an email from LinkedIn to remind them about the connection request as well. However, this does not always happen.
If they click the “Ignore” button on the listed invitation, it is essentially a form of “soft” rejection. The message is then moved to their “Archived” folder, but the user can still choose to open the message again later and accept the request. Once again, the sender is not notified about when their connection request is ignored.
After clicking “Ignore”, the recipient will be presented with an extra option that is labeled “I Don’t Know This Person”. What many people don’t know is that when a person selects this option, it is similar to marking a connection request as spam.
Even after clicking on this option, the recipient can still retrieve the invitation from their archive if they so choose to accept it later. This option simply acts as a signal to LinkedIn that an account might be spamming connection requests. If the sender receives too many “I Don’t Know This Person” responses, LinkedIn may suspend or restrict the account of the sender. LinkedIn may also warn the user to only send connection requests to people they know.
Accept or Ignore
There are other options a recipient can choose when receiving an invitation to connect on LinkedIn. Before one decides whether they wish to “Accept” or “Ignore”, they can also send out a message to the sender to confirm who they are or why they wish to connect. This can be done through a drop-down option on the “Accept” button. Sending a message is a great way to contact the sender, especially if the recipient does not recognize them. Sending a message to someone does not mean their request to connect was accepted.
Kennected is a high-quality LinkedIn automation tool that lets users personalize and send automated messages and follow-ups. Sending personalized messages is a good way to make sure that recipients respond to your invitations. Kennected also lets you personalize your follow-up messages so that people don’t think you are a spammer. Automation tools like Kennected can help you focus on more important tasks by automating the ones that are mundane or repetitive. Kennected also uses laser-accurate data to find ideal clients for you, all while ensuring that your messages reach the right people.